Pink Facts | Strawberry Girl

12Jul10

by Megan Clouse

Back when I was young(er) and carefree I never gave one second of worry about trans fats, high fructose corn syrup or cancer for that matter but as my age has increased so has my awareness on the food that I eat.  I really started paying close attention after my cancer diagnosis in 2008 and I thought I was being so smart when I increased my fruit and vegetable intake and cut back on fistfuls of chips.  Well it’s a start but…

An article in my hometown newspaper reminded me again that just because it looks healthy doesn’t necessarily mean it is.  Yet one more study was recently released saying that one of the common strawberry pesticides, Methyl Bromide and Methyl Iodide is know to cause cancer.  As quoted in the article, “It [Methyl Iodide] is carcinogenic and dangerous. Human exposure should be avoided,” said Dr. John Froines, a chemistry professor at UCLA who chaired the independent scientific review panel that studied methyl iodide at the request of DPR.

This is all so unbelievably insane I don’t know whether I should scream or laugh!  Why in the world is OUR government approving such toxins to go into our soil, our water and our food?   That answer I do not have, but what I can offer is that we all continue on switching our foods over to locally and organically grown.

Yes we need to find a cure for cancer, but I’ll say it again, we need to stop poisoning ourselves first!

No Responses Yet to “Pink Facts | Strawberry Girl”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

