vendor sponsor spotlight: Lisa Marie Rovito

23Jun10

Name: Lisa Marie Rovito

Business name: Orange & Blossom; High Tea for Alice

Business description: We’re a small, inviting online boutique of handcrafted, DIY &  vintage wedding embellishments. And… we just launched a line of custom tea & cake stands made of fine European china. Yes, I drill holes in collectable plates, cups, and saucers… but very carefully.

Location: Online, but based in Southern California/Orange County

How long have you been in business? We just celebrated our one-year anniversary

How did you get started in weddings? Throughout high school and college, I had my heart set on becoming an editor at a weddings magazine. I landed a job as an editor at Bridal Guide magazine a few years after graduation. Since then, I’ve always balanced writing & editing with some involvement in weddings. I can’t stay away! I opened the boutique as a response to the many impersonal online wedding superstores. I wanted  a warm place for brides to browse and get lost in ideas.

What is your favorite part of working in the wedding industry? My favorite days are the ones in which a bride emails to say that the crystal necklace or the vintage shrug or the custom flower girl petal cones were absolutely perfect for her wedding. If she sends a photo of her celebration to boot, I usually get a little teary. I’m so touched to be a part of someone’s beautiful day like this on an ongoing basis, even in a small way.

Why did you get involved with Pink Initiative? When I was starting to think about going into business for myself, I quickly met many women who were there with good advice & smart suggestions. I wanted to become part of something larger than myself, something that affects so many women on many levels each day.

Favorite use of pink: Paired with gold on vintage European china as part of our custom tea stands. I melt!

No Responses Yet to “vendor sponsor spotlight: Lisa Marie Rovito”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

